About bxl tour

Freewheeling in Brussels.

In 2017, the City of Brussels first asked BME to take on the challenge of organizing the BXL TOUR, a 40-km cycle race through the capital’s streets.

Launched to support Brussels’s campaign to host the 2019 Tour de France Grand Départ, the event emphasizes the City’s ambition to promote cycling and (re)discovering our capital from a different angle.

For the first three years, the race was joined by BikeCity, a village welcoming entrants after all their hard work and providing various activities.

In 2020, although delayed and modified by the pandemic, the fourth BXL TOUR eventually went ahead on Sunday 13 September. Some 2,500 amateur and semi-professional riders took part in the race. From Place des Palais to the Atomium, passing by Montgomery and the Bois de la Cambre, entrants followed the route of the 2019 Tour de France’s Brussels Grand Départ time trial.

Despite the unique circumstances, the event was another resounding success thanks to the enthusiastic entrants, who followed all the precautions needed to make this fourth edition a powerful community-led celebration.

Video BXL TOUR
bxl-tour-2020-video
Play Video
Photos BXL TOUR
ABOUT

BXL TOUR

Freewheeling in Brussels. In 2017, the City of Brussels first asked BME to take on the challenge of organizing the BXL TOUR, a 40-km cycle race through the capital’s streets. Launched to support Brussels’s campaign to host the 2019 Tour de France Grand Départ, the event emphasizes the City’s ambition to promote cycling and (re)discovering our capital from a different angle.

For the first three years, the race was joined by BikeCity, a village welcoming entrants after all their hard work and providing various activities.

In 2020, although delayed and modified by the pandemic, the fourth BXL TOUR eventually went ahead on Sunday 13 September. Some 2,500 amateur and semi-professional riders took part in the race. From Place des Palais to the Atomium, passing by Montgomery and the Bois de la Cambre, entrants followed the route of the 2019 Tour de France’s Brussels Grand Départ time trial.

Despite the unique circumstances, the event was another resounding success thanks to the enthusiastic entrants, who followed all the precautions needed to make this fourth edition a powerful community-led celebration.

DOWNLOAD
bxl-tour-video
Play Video
BXL Tour cyclist

About bxl tour

bxl-tour-2020

Ça roule à Bruxelles.

En 2017, la Ville de Bruxelles s’appuyait sur le BME pour relever pour la première fois le défi d’organiser le BXL TOUR, une course cycliste de 40 km dans les rues de la capitale.

Créée pour soutenir la candidature de Bruxelles au Grand Départ 2019 du Tour de France, cet événement souligne la volonté de la Ville de promouvoir la pratique du vélo et incite à la (re)découverte de notre capitale sous un nouvel angle.

Les trois premières années, cette course a été enrichie par BikeCity, un village convivial où étaient proposées une série d’activités pour se détendre après l’effort.

En 2020, bien que retardée et modifiée à cause de la situation, la quatrième édition du BXL TOUR a finalement eu lieu le dimanche 13 septembre. Quelque 2.500 cyclistes amateurs et semi-professionnels ont pris part à la course. De la place des Palais à l’Atomium, en passant par le rond-point Montgomery et le bois de la Cambre, les cyclistes ont suivi en partie le tracé de l’étape contre-la-montre du Brussels Grand Départ 2019 du Tour de France.

Malgré le contexte particulier, le succès était à nouveau au rendez-vous grâce à l’enthousiasme des participants qui, respectueux des nombreuses mesures prises, ont fait de cette quatrième édition une véritable fête fédératrice.

Vidéo Bxl tour
bxl-tour-2020-video
Lire la vidéo
Photos Bxl tour
bxl-tour-2020
ABOUT

BXL TOUR

Ça roule à Bruxelles.

En 2017, la Ville de Bruxelles s’appuyait sur le BME pour relever pour la première fois le défi d’organiser le BXL TOUR, une course cycliste de 40 km dans les rues de la capitale.

Créée pour soutenir la candidature de Bruxelles au Grand Départ 2019 du Tour de France, cet événement souligne la volonté de la Ville de promouvoir la pratique du vélo et incite à la (re)découverte de notre capitale sous un nouvel angle.

Les trois premières années, cette course a été enrichie par BikeCity, un village convivial où étaient proposées une série d’activités pour se détendre après l’effort.

En 2020, bien que retardée et modifiée à cause de la situation, la quatrième édition du BXL TOUR a finalement eu lieu le dimanche 13 septembre. Quelque 2.500 cyclistes amateurs et semi-professionnels ont pris part à la course. De la place des Palais à l’Atomium, en passant par le rond-point Montgomery et le bois de la Cambre, les cyclistes ont suivi en partie le tracé de l’étape contre-la-montre du Brussels Grand Départ 2019 du Tour de France.

Malgré le contexte particulier, le succès était à nouveau au rendez-vous grâce à l’enthousiasme des participants qui, respectueux des nombreuses mesures prises, ont fait de cette quatrième édition une véritable fête fédératrice.

DOWNLOAD
PRESS PACK
bxl-tour-video
Lire la vidéo
bxl-tour-2020 (1)